Imperial Crimson Cuckoo Burger


Red Robin has a burger that I am in love with.  The Royal Red Robin Burger.  Would you like to meet it?
Why yes, it is insanely huge.  It’s a bacon cheeseburger with mayo and a fried egg, and it’s really bad for you.  REALLY BAD.  It has 1178 calories, a whopping 82 grams of fat, and only 3 grams of fiber.  That’s right, Weight Watchers friends.  It is a 30 point burger.  I only get 27 points in a whole day so…. yeah.

But I LOOOVE this burger.  I adore it.  It’s awesome.

So I made my own.  Originally dubbed the Pink Parakeet Burger, it’s been renamed the Imperial Crimson Cuckoo Burger as it deserves a name as good as it turned out to be.

  • 2 slices Martin’s Whole Wheat Potato Bread (2 points)
  • 1 slice Weight Watchers sliced American cheese (2 points)  **next time I’ll use Fat Free Kraft Singles, which are only 1 point
  • 1.5 slices turkey bacon (1 point)
  • Boca Flame Grilled veggie burger (2 points)
  • 1 egg (2 points)

I skipped the mayo entirely since all I had was Miracle Whip, which I hate.  I’m not even sure why I own it…  I pan cooked the Boca patty and topped it with the bacon, cheese, and egg.  I pan fried the egg in ICBINB spray and salt.  Was it Red Robin good?  Not quite.  But it was really, REALLY good and only 9 points instead of 30.  I paired it with one medium red potato, cut up into wedges and baked in the oven with some cooking spray, salt, pepper, cumin, and a tiny bit of chili powder.  It was good.  REALLY good.  Aaron loved it too, and I felt like I was really satisfied afterward.

So this may only be the beginning of my makeover attempts.

One Response

  1. Holy crap. 1178 calories? Your version seems *much* better for you. 🙂

    I’m pretty picky about veggie burger patties… but I’ve found that Morningstar Farms has fake chicken nuggets that I like better than real chicken. I also use their fake hamburger that tastes (nothing like meat) pretty good, and it works in recipes that calls for hamburger. Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

