Tips & Recipes


I’ve eaten out twice already this weekend, mostly because I was desperate to get out of the house as soon and as often as possible.  That being said, I made good choices and I am SO proud of myself.  Last night, we went to Subway.  I actually hate (hated?) Subway, but I was really pleased with my sandwich.  I got flatbread with turkey and black forest ham, tomatoes, spinach, olives, and red pepper relish.  It was 6 points and very filling.  If I had to do it again, I’d go with double the spinach and leave out the red pepper relish since the heat overwhelmed the taste a little.

Today we went to Chick-fil-a.  I love Chick-fil-a, and I love their fries, but I resisted.  I got the kids 6 pack of nuggets with fruit salad as my side, stole one fry from my husband, and finished with their new yogurt parfait with cookie crumbs.  SO good, and I felt totally satisfied for only 8 points total.  It’s nice to know I can go out, feel great about my food, and still stay low in points.

Tonight’s dinner was an awesome quesadilla.

Green Chili Black Bean Quesadillas

  • 3 wheat quesadillas, 1 point each (I used the Tam-X-ico Low Carb Wheat tortillas we found at the store today, but here’s a list of 1 point options – thanks again to Roni for providing another great resource)
  • 3/4 cup reduced fat shredded Mexican cheese blend
  • 9 tablespoons black beans
  • 1 small can chopped green chilies
  • butter flavored cooking spray or I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter spray

In a skillet over medium-low heat, coat the bottom of the pan lightly with butter spray.  Lay a tortilla flat in the pan.  Spread 1/8 cup of cheese over one half of the tortilla.  Top with 3 tablespoons of black beans, 2.5 tablespoons green chilies, and another 1/8 cup of cheese.  Fold tortilla over to create the quesadilla, allowing the bottom to cook for 2-3 minutes or until lightly browned.  Flip and brown the other side.  Repeat twice more to make three tortilla.  Each tortilla is 4 points.  Optional toppings (for extra points) include salsa, fat free sour cream, or guacamole.

———-

On the way home from our outing, we also stopped by the store and happened on some VitaTops on sale.  I tried these a couple of years ago and hated them, but they were a great price and everyone I know loves them, so I figured I should try them again.  We got the double chocolate ones…

Vita-brownie Sundae

  • one chocolate Vitatop, defrosted in the microwave for 25 seconds or until warm
  • 4 tablespoons Cool Whip Free, frozen
  • 1 tablespoon chocolate syrup

Top the warm Vitatop with the Cool Whip and drizzle the chocolate syrup over the top.  It is awesome and tastes like a brownie sundae.  This makes one generous serving for 4 points.

One Response

  1. […] like cheetos, only better tasting and so good for you.  My normal afternoon snack consists of a Vitatop Sundae, Weight Watchers snack cakes, or something else […]

Leave a Reply

