Giving Up


Let’s face it. I’m really good at giving up. I’m good at giving in, throwing in the towel, and deciding it’s not worth the fight. If I weren’t, I wouldn’t have a weight problem in the first place.  Life us just easier when we play to our strengths, so I am embracing mine.  I’m giving up.  I quit.

I’m not doing it anymore.  I’m not making any more excuses, beating up on myself, fighting and never winning.  I’m doing what I should have done all along and really letting myself be comfortable with who I really am.

So who is that?  It turns out, it’s someone smart and strong.  I’m a girl with spirit, with determination and heart, and I am strong enough to do whatever I want.  So I give up on all of the excuses, all of the reasons for not getting healthy.  I give up on the guilt and the negativity and the defeated attitude.  No more bad days, no more anger about losing less than expected, and no more losing motivation over small things that won’t make an impact in the long run.

It’s long past time to quit thinking like that girl who doesn’t care, that girl who knows what she should be doing and does the opposite.  I’m done being the girl who can’t stick with it, the one who always wants to change but never does.

This is it.  This is the last time.  I am in it for the long haul, and I WILL make the lifestyle changes I need to in order to raise a happy, healthy little girl for whom healthy choices just come naturally.  I will be there for her, strong and healthy enough to chase her all day long, for every second possible.  For my daughter, my Evi.

3 Responses

  1. You rock! You forgot to add that you are an awesome friend, wonderful mother and (I’m sure your mom would agree) fabulous daughter. You have always been there to help motivate me, this post included. Thanks.

  2. I was in a similar place a few years ago. You can reach your goal, I know it seems far away, but you can do it. But once you reach your goal, the hard work really begins, because maintaining can be harder than losing. It is not about a diet, it is about making permanent changes in your lifestyle so that you never allow yourself to go back. Once you start seeing changes and results from your hard work, being healthy can become addictive. I did my first triathlon last year! Now my fitness goals help me to stay motivated to exercise. When you are ready, sign up for some kind of race…there is no feeling quite like finishing it. I’m still not skinny by any means, but I’m healthy and in the best shape I’ve been in since high school. Besides shopping for a whole new wardrobe is a much better reward than eating!!!

Leave a Reply

