My Day in Food


A look at my typical food day…  These pictures are actually a mish mash from the last several days, but a good representation of what I’ve been eating.

Breakfast:

A clementine, an Archer Farms strawberry fruit bar, and a blueberry bran Vitatop

This adds up to four weight watchers points, plus another one or two depending on what I put into my coffee.  I then usually have a midmorning snack of string cheese, more fruit, or some other small one or two point snack.

Lunch:

Twisted tuna wrap with carrots

A Tam-X-ico Low Carb whole wheat wrap (1 point) with twisted tuna (adapted from Eat, Sleep, Get Fit.)  My recipe is one can of drained tuna mixed with two tablespoons of reduced fat cream cheese, one tablespoon of spicy brown mustard, and one tablespoon dill relish.  I love this and had it three days in a row for lunch.  It will probably be lunch again tomorrow.

I usually have a small afternoon snack…

Gerber Veggie Dip Lil' Crunchies 😛

Okay, that isn’t my usual snack, but these things are so good!  They are, of course, for Evi.  At nine months old, she thinks they rock.  They are surprisingly good and good for you though, made with whole grains and only one point for eighteen.  It’s like cheetos, only better tasting and so good for you.  My normal afternoon snack consists of a Vitatop Sundae, Weight Watchers snack cakes, or something else sweet.

Dinner:

A Boca All-American Flame Grilled cheese burger

In this shot the burger is on whole wheat bread, though lately I’ve been putting them on sandwich thins along with a single slice of Weight Watchers American cheese, some ketchup, mustard, and dill relish.  The whole thing on a sandwich thin is probably four points, but I count it for five to make sure I count the condiments.  Tonight I also had a side of Alexia Oven Reds, which I think are… alright… for two points per serving.

Finally, dessert…

A Vitatop sandwich

Dessert is sometimes a Skinny Cow fudge bar, or a Vitatop sundae, but tonight I came up with this.  It is AWESOME.

Vitatop Dessert-which

  • 2 double chocolate Vitatops
  • 1 tablespoon reduced fat peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon marshmallow fluff

Defrost the Vitatops in the microwave until warm.  I warmed them both on the same plate for thirty seconds, flip, and another thirty seconds.  Spread the peanut butter on one muffin and the marshmallow on another, smoosh them together, and enjoy an amazingly decadent dessert for only five points!

3 Responses

  1. Nice job! I’m proud of you for getting more healthier and all that!

    Now I’m just throwing this out here as a personal belief, but… Have you considered switching over to more organic, natural, and/or unprocessed foods? I know a lot of things are mislabeled and misleading and it tends to sometimes get a reputation of a bunch of hooey, but I think it makes a lot of sense. Mostly with super processed things.

    I dunno, just a thought from a medically mandated vegan with a light soy allergy.

    😉

    GOOOOO YOUUUUU!

    • For me, it just isn’t in the cards right now. I eat fresh food when I can, but it is much more expensive and it’s often nearly impossible to decode all the vuzz words and figure out what really is organic. “Natural” is a term that particularly bugs me since there are a lot of “natural” things out there I have no wish to eat…

      Ideally, I would love to eat less in the way of convenience foods, but right now I am just concentrating on what works in terms of fat, calories, budget, and time.

  2. I have a book that you might be interested in reading about decoding all the talk. I’ll bring it and give it too you on an indefinite loan since I know it may be a lonnnnng time before you actually have time to read it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

