Carmelized-Garlic Chicken


I was surfing the Eat Better America website and downloaded a ton of great, healthy recipes.  I wanted to try something a little bit unique, a little bit adventurous, and still pretty quick and easy.

In the end, I chose the Carmelized-Garlic Chicken.  Here is the picture and recipe from their website:


15 min
start to finish:30 min
makes:4 servings

4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
2 teaspoons olive, canola or soybean oil
4 teaspoons packed brown sugar
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (about 1 1/4 lb)

1. Heat oven to 500°F. Line shallow baking pan with foil; spray foil with cooking spray.
2. In 8-inch nonstick skillet, cook garlic in oil over medium-low heat 3 to 4 minutes, stirring occasionally, until garlic begins to soften. Remove from heat. Stir in brown sugar until well mixed.
3. Place chicken in pan. Spread garlic mixture evenly over chicken.
4. Bake 10 to 15 minutes or until juice of chicken is clear when center of thickest part is cut (170°F).

Nutritional Information
1 Serving: Calories 210 (Calories from Fat 60); Total Fat 7g (Saturated Fat 1 1/2g, Trans Fat 0g); Cholesterol 85mg; Sodium 80mg; Total Carbohydrate 5g (Dietary Fiber 0g, Sugars 4g); Protein 31g Percent Daily Value*: Vitamin A 0%; Vitamin C 0%; Calcium 2%; Iron 6% Exchanges: 0 Other Carbohydrate; 0 Vegetable; 4 1/2 Very Lean Meat; 1 Fat Carbohydrate Choices: 1/2  *Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

Here is my picture.  I paired the chicken with some wonderful sauteed zucchini, which I could eat TONS of every day.  Evi loves it too.

I thought it was AWESOME.  The garlic turned out sweet and mild with a slight crunch, almost like it had been candied.  If I had it to do over, I would do the chicken in strips.  It’s all cut up because I had to keep cutting into it to see if it was done.  It was SO good though.  I will definitely be making it again.  It was fast, easy, and had a wonderfully complex flavor that I loved.

I made it into two servings instead of four, so I figured it at 10 points for half the recipe, using the nutrition info provided.

Leave a Reply

