5 Miles & More Goals


On Saturday, I walked five miles for my favorite charity.  I feel proud, healthy, and strong.  Plus I got the chance to reconnect with a good friend who I don’t see nearly enough (and who bought me bras for my birthday!) and a friend who I haven’t seen since high school!  Let’s not spend too much time thinking about how that means we haven’t seen one another in thirteen years.

The fabulous BK picked me up from my house on Friday night.  We ate AMAZING roasted vegetable wraps in the car for dinner…  I will try to post the recipe later today.  We drove to Christy’s house and spent the night there, where we also got to meet her angelic daughter, awesome husband, and huge teddy bear of a dog.  We got up early, had breakfast, and headed out to the race… where we got lost and ended up ten minutes late starting the race.

Once we got going, it was colder than we expected, and we were all wishing we’d brought earmuffs or a scarf to keep our ears, necks, and faces out of the cold wind.  After about the first mile though, the sun warmed things up and we started to feel the exertion warming us too.  Of course, that’s when things started to get weird.  Right about mile 1, the truck started coming by to take the cones that marked the route.  It was weird, and it made us feel hurried, but it wasn’t a big deal since there where still signs directing us to the right route….

Until mile 3.  That’s the last place we saw a route sign or mile marker.  We managed to follow what we thought was the right route, but the last half mile or so had us turning around a lot and dead ending…  and I think we ended up walking a lot more thanks to the disappearing signs.  When we finally reached the finish line, less than a half hour after the last runner (and we know there were other walkers there) no one was there to greet us.  They’d already moved on to speeches and medals for the runners.  We were disappointed, since we’d hoped to be recognized somehow for completing the run.  We did get t-shirts, I guess, but it seems poorly done to me that the race organizers told us it would be fine to walk, but then made us feel like we didn’t matter.  Ideally, shouldn’t all participants in a charity event like this be recognized for their support?  I do want to do the event again next year, but I’ve sent an email to the organizers in the hopes of improving things…

I would really like to do this event every year, and my new goal is to be able to run one of those five miles next year.  My ultimate goal is to participate in the Disney Princess Half Marathon sometime in the next five years, but I’m trying to take it one event at a time!

In summary, there were issues that took a little of the shiny off of the day, but overall I had a great time and felt great.  I also learned several important things:

  1. My tennis shoes are too small.
  2. Coffee and oatmeal are not a good preparation for exercise.  Next time I’ll do lots of protein and water.
  3. I should have stretched when I first got up and again when we got to the race.
  4. I should also have stretched when we were finished, since there was no way around spending 1.5 hours in the car on the way home.
  5. Next time, I’ll bring Gatorade or Powerade or something instead of water.  I felt sort of sick the night after the walk, and I think it had a lot to do with missing nutrients.
Leave a Reply

