Veggie Tales: Brussel Sprouts Review


I have always, and probably unfairly, thought of brussel sprouts as being disgusting.  I’ve never actually tried them, but I’ve heard more than a few times that they are just awful.  When I started reading healthy eating blogs more often, I started to see brussel sprouts popping up on a lot of healthy plates and it made me wonder if I’d been fair to this funny looking vegetable.

I decided I would give it a chance, so when we went grocery shopping I picked up a 1.5 pound box of brussel sprouts.  I brought them home, tucked them into the fridge, and promptly forgot about them for a few days.  Last night, as I was hunting through the fridge and pantry for dinner ideas, I spotted that big plastic box of brussel sprouts and figured I’d better do something with them before they go bad and I have to throw them out.

I searched the internet for a recipe that sounded both good and easy.  I finally settled on this one by Ina Garten.  I chose it for several reasons.  First of all, it looked easy.  Secondly, I had all of the ingredients I needed and wouldn’t have to worry (as I frequently do) about substituting something or leaving it out.  Lastly, and probably most importantly, I know Ina Garten is not afraid of rich flavors, salt, or butter.  She is a fan of making food taste really good and doesn’t typically focus on making it healthy.  Of course I want my food to be healthy, but for this first experiment in the world of brussel sprouts, I was much more concerned about taste.

The steps were easy.  I trimmed the brussel sprouts, cut them in half the way I’d seen lots of bloggers do, tossed aside the outside leaves that fell off during the trimming/cutting process, and tossed them in robust olive oil with salt and pepper.  I spread them out on a cookie sheet and put them into the prewarmed oven.  We had turkey sandwiches while we waited because a trip to the grocery store for Easter lunch supplies had us home later than usual.  As the brussel sprouts cooked, I began to worry.

Because, well, they stink.  Sort of like cooking cabbage.  So, ew?

When they came out of the oven, they looked good.  They looked all crispy and brown on the outsides, and I could see that the insides had stayed moist and soft, just like Ina Garten suggested they should.  I was pleased that I at least managed to roast the brussel sprouts properly.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Roasted Brussel Sprouts a la Ina Garten

I added a little extra salt and divided them onto two plates, one for me and one for my husband.  My daughter, who is always interested in whatever is on my plate, hovered nearby.  I tried a brussel sprout, starting with a small one.

It was good!  It tasted sort of like broccoli, which is also stinky when cooking but tastes great when it’s done right.  Poor brussel sprouts, I thought.  I’ve given them no credit, and they’re actually good.  I gave a piece to my daughter, who made a face and spit it out, then picked it up and ate it anyway.  I love eleven month old babies.  She’ll eat anything.

My husband tried a sprout and liked it too!  Success!  We’re eating brussel sprouts, and we are enjoying it.  I feel like such a healthy person.  I can’t wait to blog about my sprout success!  About five brussel sprout halves later, I began to notice a slight bitterness.  Huh, that’s funny.  Whatever, probably just got a weird one.

Ten or so brussel sprout halves in, the bitterness had pretty much settled in for the long haul.  Every sprout tasted worse than the last one, until I couldn’t stand to eat them anymore.  They were awful, tasting more like stewed cabbage than broccoli.  I hate stewed cabbage.  And so, the brussel sprout experiment ended the way it had began.

I still think brussel sprouts are disgusting.  QH236D982Y78

2 Responses

  1. This is exactly what I was looking for! I HAVE brussel sprouts in the fridge. THank you. I’m excited to try this tonight!

  2. Brussel sprouts are good…in limited quantities. But I like cabbage, so that may be why I like brussel sprouts.

Leave a Reply

