Couch to 5K: Week 1, Day 2


I hate running in my neighborhood.  Especially since one of the good running streets (less hills than most, and paved unlike half the streets) also happens to be home to several houses full of twenty something guys who hang out on their porches.  I have such an issue with running by and being SURE they are chatting about my fat ass running past looking all sweaty and bedraggled and barely running in the first place.  For whatever reason, there is something about twenty somethings that makes me particularly nervous.  Yesterday, after passing Dude street, a car full of similarly aged girls kept driving by me (probably lost, our neighborhood is crazy and huge) and I was getting SO self conscious.  Fortunately, I was mid way through my second to last running segment and so proud of myself that I  stopped caring.

I wonder why we all do this?  I NEVER, EVER see someone running on the road and think negative things.  If they’re heavy, I swell with pride for them because I know how hard it is.  If they’re fit, I admire that and aim for it.  No matter what shape you’re in, running is never easy…   Why am I convinced that other people are judging me instead of being happy for me or, more likely, barely noticing me at all?

Yesterday though, I made myself laugh because I was totally pimping my site during the run.  I got a cool running shirt (which is way too big and may have to be altered in some way… suggestions?) and decided to jazz up the back with my site name.  I figure it’s a great way to just get the site out there and if even one person stops by because of it then I can consider it a success.  I am thinking about putting my site on the back of all of my shirts….

Run Like a Girl Tee

Run Like a Girl Tee

Shameless Self Promotion

Shameless Self Promotion

I also ran in some tighter, capri pants yesterday… and they are SO MUCH BETTER!  I don’t actually have a lot of workout appropriate clothing, and since I have until recently done all of my workouts in my living room, I tend to wear old tees and tanks paired with pajama pants.  It works most of the time, but it SUCKS for running.  The slimmer silhouette of the capris was so much more comfortable for my run.

So let’s talk specifics.  How did it go?  When I first started out, I noticed some soreness in my shins that I hadn’t really felt until I was running.  I was worried that it would mean not finishing again, but I’d already set myself up to just do half.  When I did the run on Monday, I didn’t even finish the last ten or so seconds of the fourth run segment, so my goal was just to finish that segment.  The first run felt easy except for the sore shins.  The second and third runs were pretty easy too, though I could feel my breath coming shorter and I really had to concentrate on breathing deeply and keeping my upper body relatively loose as the podcast suggested.

The fourth run came, and I finished it!  I was so proud of myself.  I was having a harder time catching my breath, but felt ready to run again.  In the middle of the fifth run I remember being thrilled because I figured I would be able to do six of the eight run segments.  The sixth run was HARD.  Really hard.  I almost couldn’t finish it.  I figured I was done, but walked the next 90 seconds anyway.  After the walk, I felt like I could at least TRY the seventh run.  Even though it was slightly uphill, the seventh run was oddly a little easier.  I think I might have been a little high on the fact that I was almost done, that I could conceivably finish all eight run segments.  I did the next walk… by this point my walks were more like dear-god-just-keep-feet-moving exercises than the “brisk walk” the podcast suggests.  I am beginning to hate the guy on my podcasts…

Run number eight, the last run segment.  I don’t even remember what it felt like.  All I remember is the crazy high, the total awe that I was finishing.  As soon as I was prompted to walk again, having successfully completed the run segment, the tears came.  I didn’t even realize how emotional this was for me.  It still is apparently, as I am getting all weepy as I type this.  I did it.  I did it.  Me.  The unfit girl, the one who hates exercise and gets out of breath with any run/jump activities.  The girl with the flabby belly, too big arms…

No more.  Now I am the girl who did it.  I am the girl who completed what, for me, was a HUGE goal.  I finished, and I am ready to keep on going.  I will run again on Friday and, schedule permitting, every other day until Week One of the couch to 5K is an easy breezy thing.

I am the girl who triumphed, and soon, I will be the girl who ran a 5K.

Triumphant Smile

Triumphant Smile - me after a nice dinner, lots of stretching, and some resting on the couch.

10 Responses

  1. so proud of you friend!!

  2. I did my second run yesterday too. I think it went well. I increased the pace by .50 on the treadmill. It was a little tougher, but I found the minute went by pretty quickly. After the run, I hit the stairmaster and climbed 90 flights of stairs in 20 minutes on the glute scupltor program. This is an evil program that increases the difficulty every other minute. It kicked my butt, but it felt good to burn 600 calories in 47 minutes. I love my heart rate moniter…you should look into getting one. It keeps track of your heart rate and tells you how many calories you burn. Totally awesome motivation for me to keep working out. Plus it is more accurate than the cardio machines at the gym, which I love cause I usually burn more calories than the machine says! I have a Polar, which runs around $80-$200, depending on the model. I just have a basic one that was around $80-$90. There are also cheaper models you can get from Target, etc. Congrats on completing you first full run! It will only get easier once you start to build up your endurance.

  3. I am so, so proud of you. What a rockstar.

  4. Congrats on finishing it…that is tremendous.

  5. You ARE the girl who could do it. See why I wouldn’t dignify all that EPIC FAIL horseshit with a response?

  6. I am so, so proud H. And I hate you for this a little bit, but I’ve been having thoughts that maybe I should be slipping some running shoes on.

    You have a lot to answer for, my friend!

  7. Great job! You know, it’s very okay to have those feelings about being self-conscious. That’s pretty normal for anyone. Just don’t let it stop you from doing what you need to do!

  8. keep up the great work—it gets easier, I promise! 🙂

    and I’m glad to see you over at bookieboo.com!

  9. Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

    I’m so proud of you!!!

    Great work. Keep it up.

    Do it again.

    🙂

  10. Hey! I just found this post. I’m so proud of you! I’m in exactly this same situation, and I know how you feel. I love knowing that it’s not just me.

Leave a Reply

