Skinny Sushi Exposed


First I read that Steve did it.  Then I saw that MizFit did it.  Turns out it was all started by the Exposed Movement at Eating Journey.

So now it’s my turn.  I don’t know if I have the guts to post this, or to leave it up if I do… but here I go.

Me in a sports bra and running shorts.

Here I am, at 204 pounds in a sports bra and XL New Balance running shorts.

Side view in sports bra and shorts.

Side view. Here I am, at 204 pounds in a sports bra and XL New Balance running shorts.

There I am.  That’s the real me.  The girl with cellulite and excess belly fat and stretch marks.   I’m the girl who poses in bed.

But I am a lot more than that.  I am the woman who gave birth to a son she had to say goodbye to all too soon.  I am the mother who survived five months of full bedrest to protect my growing daughter from the same fate.

I earned those stretch marks by growing two beautiful babies.  That chubby belly housed and nourished my beautiful children, and with the help of a little medical intervention (a cerclage) it helped me to bring my beautiful little girl into the world.

Those flabby arms?  They held my precious son, and they lift my gorgeous daughter from her crib every morning.  They help me to hug my amazing, supportive husband.  They are attached to the hands that type for me, helping me make connections and friendships all over the world.

Those legs might have cellulite… but they are still strong.  They carried me five miles to raise money for Children’s Hospital, who saved my daughter’s life when she was three weeks old.  They power me along on every C25K struggle, and they slogged/walked eight miles on Saturday!

Am I perfect?  Of course not.  Maybe far from it.  But my body is strong and getting stronger every day.  It has produced two little miracles.  It helps me laugh and love and live, and I am trying as hard as I can to love it in return.

31 Responses

  1. Oh My Heavens…amazing! WOOT! #41. Welcome to the family.

  2. This. Is. Awesome. 🙂

  3. […] SkinnySushi ‘Exposed’ […]

  4. You’re beautiful, and this is a very powerful post.

  5. Welcome #41. I am #42. 🙂

    Reading your story brought me back. I had a loss of a child at 21 1/2 weeks nearly 15 years ago. I remember it like it was yesterday. I now have a 3 year-old.

    We mommies earn every stretch mark, I love mine. They are war scars. LOL!

  6. I love you skinny sushi. I think I really do. No heart about it. All (((hugs))).

    I can so relate.

    So amazing!

  7. Lordy I love you.

    Carla

  8. Wow. This is really beautiful and amazing and wonderful. Love it!!

  9. Great post….so brave to share everything you did. I’m so glad we found each other on here to follow. Good luck!

  10. I weigh EXACTLY the same amount, H! And you are beautiful!

  11. Wow. You made me tear up. Thank you for this beautiful lady.

  12. I know this is about you right now, but I have to tell you I followed your links to Aodin. He is perfect and beautiful just like you said. And YOU are one hell of a woman. I applaud you for exposing yourself, but many more reasons to applaud you as well.

  13. i am SOO proud of you!! this is the most beautiful post i have read in a v. long time!

  14. I don’t know if I’ve commented on this blog yet, but I’ve been following it – and Heather, you are such an inspiration and an amazing person… I’m so glad you’re in my life!

  15. This was beautiful, just like you.

  16. This is beautiful. Thanks for posting and being an inspiration to others!

  17. […] SkinnySushi ‘Exposed’ […]

  18. You are an amazing woman and don’t be ashamed of that body because you did a wonderful thing becoming a mother!

Leave a Reply

