Product Review: Special K Fruit Crisps


Special K Strawberry Fruit Crisps

Special K Strawberry Fruit Crisps - photo from the Special K website

I bought these Special K strawberry fruit crisps a few weeks ago because they were new and on sale at the store.  I figured they might be a good way to get a quick, sweet snack every now and then.  They’ve been sitting in my pantry since then, being eaten very slowly.

Why so slowly?  Well… they’re not that good.  They are VERY sweet, but in a heavy sugar way instead of the fruit taste I was hoping for.  The taste is pretty similar to a toasted pastry… and maybe that’s the idea, but I don’t love it.  In terms of fat and calories, they’re pretty good for you, but I just don’t think they’re worth it.

So what do I do with the ones I’ve got left?  It turns out that they are much, MUCH better if you spread a tablespoon of peanut butter between the two crisps and make a little sandwich.  I may well make that my morning snack for a few days until the leftover crisps are gone, but I won’t be buying them again.

Disclaimer: I was not paid to do this review.  I bought the crisps on my own, and this post was in no way connected to the company.

2 Responses

  1. I buy poptarts for the kids occationally but will stay away from these – I am not a toasted pastry kinda person.

    They look good though 😦

    • I thought these were absolutely delicious. These aren’t supposed to be cookies they are a low fat low calorie snack. If you aren’t worried about calories or fat content then I wouldn’t recommend this product. But if you are tired are rice cakes and sugar free cookies this is a huge improvement on flavor as far as the realm of low calorie snacks goes.

      And in the case that you were looking for a light snack then I highly recommend against your peanut butter strategy considering that there is roughly 100 cal and 8g of fat in a single spoonful. That’s more than both crisps together.

      Also these aren’t really like a toasted pastry more like a hard sweetbread kinda like a vanilla waffer with strawberry inside.

Leave a Reply

