How to Recover


So you had a bad day?  Maybe you felt like you’d done something stupid, made a bad choice?  Maybe you were convinced you stood at the edge of the precipice, seconds from rolling right down the hill, twinkie in hand, and running smack into your old habits?

Here’s how to recover.

  1. Reach out.  Call for help.  Beg for help.  Tweet it out.
  2. Listen.  Really listen.  Take it in, hear what your support system is telling you, and let it sink in.
  3. TAKE A DEEP BREATH.
  4. Get some sleep.
  5. Cross it off your list.  You know that list of worries/concerns/grievances you carry around in your head?  (No?  Just me?)  Cross it off.  Cross the whole day off of your list.  Make it go away.  Forget it existed in the first place.
  6. Smile.
  7. Keep breathing.
  8. Start over.  Get up, have the same breakfast you have on good days.
  9. Fake it ’till you make it.  Act out a good day, even if it isn’t one.  If you’re dedicated, by the end of the day it will probably be a good one again.
  10. Spend half an hour working out with the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders.  No really. Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders: Power Squad Bod! – Hard Body Boot Camp is a surprisingly good strength training workout.  I can’t believe I am saying that, but I think I’ll be trying the other cheerleader workouts too.  (Seriously, my high school self just died of embarrassment at having anything to do with cheerleaders.)
Cheerleader Sushi

Yeah, my abs and legs totally look like that now.

So there it is.  I spent the day pretending the bad day never happened.  I went back to my routine, to doing the things I always do on my good days, and right about lunch time it started to feel like a real good day again.  The workout just made it that much better, and now I am bizarrely looking forward to C25K W2D3!

3 Responses

  1. I did that too. And a BONUS extra long workout.

    Then dinner struck. I’ll have to do it again.

    Fake it Till I make it…to bedtime.

  2. Ahem! Ahem! “…anything to do with cheerleaders”??? hahaha. Glad you found a good work out! Also, seeeeeeee cheerleaders have to do some tough crap. 😉

  3. I may have to add that one to the list. For awhile, I was secretly obsessed with the ballet one and the striptease one. Whatever gets ya moving, right?

Leave a Reply

