What To Do When Plans Fail


After weighing in on Saturday morning and seeing such a fantastic number, I was determined to get all hardcore with the food/exercise this week to speed up the approach of the magical Onederland.  Of course, then the weekend happened and nearly derailed those plans.

Saturday was pretty good until we ended up, unexpectedly, at an Asian buffet for dinner where nearly everything was fried.  I tried to fill up on green beans, but still ended up with too much black pepper chicken.  Sunday was fine, although I did have to survive the cake at a baby shower.  I ate lots of baby carrots, stuck to one glass of punch, and shared my small piece of cake with Evi, who enjoyed every bite.

So I didn’t exactly wreck everything, but I did eat more calories than my ideal plan would have allowed for.  Plus, thanks to general malaise after a busy weekend, I ended up skipping last night’s run in favor of doing it tonight.  Now I feel bad about getting off to such a terrible start.  When I am at home, during our normal routine, I do an awesome job.  Even on weekends I do well when there is nothing special going on, but as soon as plans change, as soon as something new happens, I am a mess.  I don’t do well at all with changes in my carefully structured plan.

For instance, the buffet on Saturday.  We’d originally intended to go to a sushi place, where I already knew what the best choices would be.  Unfortunately, the place turned out to be closed and we had to fish around for other plans.  I tried to push for Greek food, where I knew I could have a salad and some roasted chicken and be alright, but everyone wanted Chinese.  So we tried the buffet, and nearly everything was fried.  I was all set to blame it on the buffet choices too, which were admittedly skewed toward the unhealthy, but the truth is that I could have done things differently.  I could have had a small serving of rice with a very small spoonful of the two fried dishes I wanted to try, and then I could have stuffed myself with green beans.  The beans were, in fact, very good.  I also could have skipped the fried donuts and stuck to the little miniature coffee cake.  Instead, I had no rice, two large spoonfuls of each fried dish, only one small serving of green beans, and TWO fried donuts.  It’s not the end of the world, and I am not really concerned about the food at all, but it does teach me that I don’t do well when I have to think on my feet.  I plan for everything, and if my plan gets tossed, I don’t always know what to do.

From now on, I think I need to be a little bit more flexible.  I need to think more openly, to allow myself the mental room I need to figure these things out.  Until I master that, I’ll be spending today doing the cheerleader strength training workout, taking a half hour morning walk with my daughter, repeating week 2 of Couch to 5K, and trying to fit in the final week of this semester’s graduate work alongside some freelance stuff I need to get going while still managing to make sure my daughter feels loved, cared for, and paid attention to.

Me, busy?  Nah.

7 Responses

  1. You know what – sometimes life happens. And not every day is going to be perfect. Don’t beat yourself up too much. It happens to all of us and we can’t always control our food choices as well as we’d like. Give yourself a break and then concentrate on cleaner eating the rest of the week and you’ll be fine. In a day or two, these choice won’t even be an issue. More importantly – did you enjoy the meal?

  2. I wrote a post last week about a meal I also did not really enjoy. THAT is the frustrating part. Not so much that you’re winging it but that you eat all that food and ultimately you’re not even satisfied and you’ve blown your food budget out of the water.

    All you can do is keep working towards being able to react apprpriately when put in these situations – and move on.

    Your recovery plan sounds like a great one.

  3. I haaaaate when I eat a “bad” meal and it’s not worth it in the end. Talk about a waste of calories AND money! But like the other poster said, life happens and plans change. It’s in the past now so just do better for a few days and it probably won’t matter at all! 🙂

  4. I totally hear you! I jjust had chinese for dinner last night, and the rest of it for breakfast this morning. But, never-the-less I am going to continue my Fourth week of Couch to 5k for the third time. I WILL RUN THREE MILES! Hahaha.

    You are a stronger woman than I, that is for sure. I thought I was having trouble with classes and work alone, but I couldn’t imagine doing it all with a kid!

    If you can do it, I can too! Keep up the good work!

    -Kim
    kimbasaur.wordpress.com

  5. I’m so so happy to hear that there are others out there who are repeating weeks in the C25K program! I’m not alone–yay!

    • You are SO not alone. It’s part of why I wanted to blog, because no one seemed to be saying they were repeating weeks, and at first I thought about quitting because if I had to repeat the first week I was so clearly out of shape… but I think people just don’t talk about it when they have to repeat. I’m proud of it in a way though, for knowing I need to, for not pushing too hard. Be proud. Own your repeats! 🙂 We should all be so proud of ourselves for getting out there at all!

Leave a Reply

