Fruit for dessert


You know those people who are constantly suggesting you cut back on sugar/fat by having fruit when you’re craving something sweet?  Are you one of those people?

I have to tell you, very few things get on my nerves as much as that suggestion.  When I want a brownie, an apple is NOT going to cut it.  Lately, however, I’ve been trying really hard to do two things.  First, I want to eat more fruit and less processed sugar.  Second, I want to use up the gigantic carton of strawberries we bought before they go bad.

I happened to find this recipe a few days ago on Gina’s Weight Watchers Recipes for strawberries Romanoff.  Sour cream and brown sugar?  It sounded just weird enough to try.  I used fat free sour cream and dark brown sugar because that’s what I had, and it turned out FANTASTIC.  Really, really good.  My husband and daughter loved it too.

Since I still had a ton of strawberries to use up, I spent some time this morning looking through some recipes to use them up and I came across a Green Lite Bites recipe for dark chocolate banana dip.  Aaron brought bananas home from the store yesterday, so mine wasn’t brown yet… I microwaved it for two minutes instead of one… and then I ate it all with a fork.  I did share some more strawberries with Evi, but the chocolate banana dip (I added no water, so mine was super thick) was good enough to eat all on it’s own.  Thanks, Roni!

So here I am, the girl who constantly ignores the idea of fruit for dessert, planning to make both of these things again this week!  It doesn’t mean either of these recipes would help if I wanted a brownie, but they are a fantastic way for me to get that sweet finish to my day without eating cookies or ice cream.  Tonight I’ll be using up the rest of the strawberries with more Romanoff!

7 Responses

  1. I saw the strawberries recipe today actually! I think the crabcake recipe she put up looks good since I love crabcakes. I’ve been making this cheesecake mousse with fat free sugar free instant cheesecake pudding, 1.5 cups skim milk. After I whisk that together, I fold in half a container of fat free cool whip. I eat it with strawberries and blueberries dropped on top. Really yummy, gives me something sweet but super low fat/low cal. Not nearly as good as real cheesecake obviously, but a pretty good substitute. You could also do the same with chocolate pudding and dip the strawberries in it. 🙂

  2. Yeah, somehow fruit for dessert never crosses my mind. Brownies?! Now, you’re talkin’ 😉

    I love both those sites and those fruit dessert ideas do sound delicious!

  3. I think a little fat/creamy is what you’re craving. No?

    Berries with real cream whipped. Baked apples with a little strudel. Baby steps Sushi. Baby steps.

  4. Have you tried strawberries with balsamic vinagar – yum.
    I have also been trying to add more fruit so DD and I have been making fruit smoothies using fresh fruit and almond milk, they are pretty addictive and great for the hot weather.

Leave a Reply

