Multiple Sites?


I am deeply, endlessly not looking forward to tonight’s C25K session.  I’m achey and crampy, thanks to the fact that being a woman is occasionally sucky.  When I feel this physically affected by my cycle, I feel heavy and slow.  I know people say that exercise is supposed to help, and I suppose it does, but it’s tough to even get out there when you feel like you’ve bloated to 500 pounds and your entire torso is now composed of knotted muscle.  I hate taking medicine, but I took some Midol this morning so that I could uncurl from my miserable ball on the floor long enough to make sure my daughter wakes up happy.

On these mornings, I’d like nothing more than to stay in bed with a hot water bottle and a snuggly puppy while Aaron takes care of Evi.  Too bad he has to work…

In better news, this is my last week of graduate classes for the semester.  I’m taking the summer off, so I am looking forward to a bit of an academic break.  It will also be nice to have the summer to figure out what to do with myself once my graduate funding dries up.  Lots to consider.

So I have a blog related question for you all.  Do you blog on multiple platforms?  Do you have more than one blog, or somewhere else that you write content?  If you do, how do you decide what goes where?  I have this blog and my personal blog, and I am considering starting a third endeavor (details to come) so I am wondering how to sort it all out.  Do I cross post so that the information is in more than one place?  Do I try to keep to a theme for each site?  Right now, I tend to post personal and non fitness related stuff on my personal blog, while all of the health and exercise posts end up here.  I’ve been considering combining the two, but sometimes I like the separation.  Besides, I don’t know if people really care about some of my personal posts.  Are my FitBloggin friends really concerned with my parenting issues or career crisis?

So I’m looking for your advice, especially if you have the sort of set up where you write in more than one place.

In other news, and mostly thanks to cramps and chocolate cravings, this week’s attempt to tighten the belt and push for Onederland has been a dismal failure.  Interestingly, I don’t care.  I am still making decent choices, and I am still exercising every day.  Considering how cranky the physical discomfort makes me, I will call this week a victory if I get through it without killing anyone.  I’ll save the extra Onederland efforts for next week.

3 Responses

  1. I don’t think this is going to help you much, but I blog on two sites, and they are basically (if not exactly) the same posts. I wonder the same thing – if people would really care about my personal life? Then I think, well, tons of people write about theirs and I like to read them. But doesn’t that just make me a nosy nancy? Either way, I like how you’ve separated your posts on a personal and fitness blog, because I like reading about fitness adventures the most, and it gives me a direct site to go for that specific topic. If I feel like being a nosy nancy, I know where to go! 🙂 Anyways, women tend to gain excess water weight and stuff right before our periods, so I bet you anything you’ll be quite surprised when you step on the scale after your week’s over. You may be closer to, or even in, Onederland than you might think! Btw, it’s SO great that you are taking graduate courses! It’s hard work, but it will pay off in the end!

  2. I know how you feel about the body issues. I get horrible cramps and usually gain about 5 lbs from water. Fun right? As far as blogging goes, I just put everything on one blog. I never thought about creating another one, but I suppose I could. I like that you’ve divided yours up between two not because I don’t like reading about your personal life, but because the type A person in me likes having things organized. 🙂 Good luck making it through the next few days. I find advil usually kicks my cramps in the butt if they get unbearable.

  3. I’m sorry you’re dealing with such severe crampage. That just plain sucks. Hopefully it doesn’t last too long for you.
    I have one blog on blogger (WMBS), and the other on WordPress (Fresh Food Family). I think it’s good to make your blogs as specific in genre as possible, but that’s just me. Not that it’s bad to mix in personal stuff that’s not related to your subject once in a while.
    But, for example – there’s one blog that I follow that’s suppose to be a weight loss journey blog. But the woman posts pics of her kids almost every day – and that’s it! So, I’ve lost interest, because that’s not why I read her blog, you know?
    I do plan on doing some cross posts when appropriate. For example, if I post a recipe on Fresh Food Family that’s also diet-friendly, I would definitely cross-post it on WMBS.
    Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

