Jillian Michaels Is Odd


It’s a quiet Sunday morning and it’s raining again.  I skipped my scheduled Couch to 5K run yesterday thanks to a combination of rain, grocery shopping, and an anniversary dinner.  I was hoping the weather would be better today and I could get out there.

I planned to start week 3 of the training program today, and I don’t want to miss another run day, so I am seriously considering running in the rain just to get it done.  I don’t really mind rain, so as long as Aaron is willing to stay home with the baby while I get out there, I think running in the rain might be a good adventure, and a chance to break in some new running clothes I bought on the cheap yesterday at Ross.

Apparently the giddy aftereffects of Onederland really did a number on me, because while we were at Ross yesterday, I also bought a dress!  I don’t like dresses because I have a hang up about my legs looking huge… but this dress was comfortable, cheap, and flattering.  So I got it, and I am planning to wear it to my daughter’s birthday party at the zoo in two weeks.

Despite the high of my awesome weigh in, I am not feeling motivated to exercise this weekend.  I want to run because I don’t want to miss another day, but on the other hand I can totally see myself easily letting a lazy Sunday slip by without ever lacing up my running shoes and getting out the door.  It’s not even the rain, though that is a bummer since it means Aaron and Evi won’t come out and run with me… it’s just a general drive to sit on the couch today and not do anything at all.

You know what?  I’m just going to do it.  As soon as Evi wakes up from her morning nap, I am going to take her with me upstairs, throw on my running gear and shoes, and then I’ll pass her off to her Daddy and get out the door.  The longer I sit here thinking about it, the easier it is for me to rationalize my way out of doing it.

We all do it sometimes.  Especially when you’re still getting used to exercise as a part of your routine.  We want things to be easier, and if you’re doing it right then exercise is hard.  But it also feels great when you’re done, and the benefits in terms of energy and weight loss are so fantastic.  I didn’t finally see a 1 at the start of my scale readout by sitting on the couch all day.  I got up and got moving, and I’ll do it again today.  I promise to come back for an update on week three’s run.

In the meantime, have you all heard the buzz about Jillian Michaels?  Apparently she told a magazine interviewer that she was thinking of adopting because she didn’t want to get pregnant and ruin her body.  Or at least that’s the way her comment about not wanting to “do that” to her body is being spun.  She claims now that she didn’t mean the comment the way it sounded and that all she meant was that pregnancy was not a good idea for her because of some physical and emotional “issues.”

People are really mad at her.  They feel betrayed because she tells people they can lose the weight, often from pregnancy, but now is saying publicly that she won’t risk gaining it herself?  I see why it’s sparking tempers, and I understand why people feel angry or betrayed.  For me, though, it’s just not that big a deal.  Why do I care if Jillian Michaels wants to get pregnant or not?  What she thinks about pregnancy is totally irrelevant for me.  Obviously, since I’ve already been pregnant twice.

Now yes, she is an influential person, so perhaps she may sway the opinions of some.  But really, if you’re the sort of person who decides not to get pregnant because of something Jillian Michaels is saying, maybe it’s alright that you’re not making babies…  you know?  I hate the general idea that people are so weak minded that any stupid thing a celebrity says is going to have them changing their minds right and left about important issues.  Sure, there are some people who really do believe every word that comes out of the mouths of their chosen idols, but most of us are smart enough to think for ourselves.  Most of us don’t really care what these people are saying when it comes to important, major life decisions.  I hope…

2 Responses

  1. I thought the hoopla about her comment was stupid. She said afterward that it was taken out of context anyway and she was referring to things that happened to her in her past that she has not revealed publicly (hinting perhaps at abuse or trauma?). Her exact quote on facebook was “I can’t put my body through it. There are emotional issues and physical LIMITATIONS that have resulted in that conclusion – some I have discussed publicly and some I haven’t”. Isn’t feminism about choosing what is right for our own bodies?? It makes no sense why people would even care if she did or didn’t want to get pregnant for any reason-it’s her decision to make.

    • I couldn’t agree more. Why should I care what she does or doesn’t want to do with he body? And also, I get so tired of everyone going on and on about how magical and miraculous pregnancy is. I actually feel pretty great during my pregnancies, and I wouldn’t trade it for the world because Evi is worth anything, but pregnancy can really wreck your body. I have never had to work this hard to lose weight, and I am still having various other issues that may never be resolved. I had a sort of traumatic (physically) birth experience, and it is possible that my body won’t be the same again. I know that sounds like I am trying to scare people, but the truth is that when you’re really ready to have kids, you’ll know because you stop caring about what it might do to you. So maybe Jillian just isn’t in the right place to have kids… besides, there are SO MANY kids who need adopting. Wouldn’t it be great if they were all taken in by someone like her, who will teach them to eat well and move more and who has enough money to be sure they live good lives with new experiences all the time?

Leave a Reply

