5K, Disco Abs, and POMx Coffee


I have amazing friends.  I can’t believe my support system.  In less than one day, with only four days to go before the last minute March for Babies event this weekend, I’ve already raised nearly half of my fundraising goal.  I can’t tell you how much that means to me.  I will be so proud to show up on the day of the event with anything close to the $200 I set out to raise.  *Update: I just got an email telling me another friend made a donation, so I am now up to $120.  In less than 24 hours after posting my registration!  LOVE.*

On top of that, I got an email this morning from a friend who invited me to join her for a 5K in September!  That gives me the time to repeat every week of the Couch to 5K training and still be ready to run the whole race!  I am really nervous about registering, because this is one of those run-only events and I can’t help worrying.  What if I get there and I can’t do it?  What if I can’t finish?

It’s silly though.  If I finish the C25K, then I not only know that I can do it, but I’ve got a pretty good idea of what to expect for my race pace as well.  So I will be printing out the registration form today and (hopefully) sending it in this weekend.  I do like the idea of knowing someone at my first race, though to be totally honest that makes me nervous too, because she’s likely a lot faster than me and oh-god what if I’m embarrassingly slow?  I’m trying to let go of those thoughts though, and just focus on what a huge achievement it will be for me to be running my very first race.

Have you done a 5K?  Do you remember your first one?  I’d love to hear stories of how it went, how you trained, and whether or not you were able to actually run the whole thing.  I’ve looked at the course for this one and it looks like it is less hilly than my neighborhood, so I am hoping that will be a benefit since it should be easier… right?

In other workout news, I did Disco Abs for my cardio workout yesterday… and it was weird.  It was dance based and sort of fun, and it definitely got me sweating a lot… but it was also SUPER fast paced and didn’t lay out the moves very well, so a lot of times I found myself behind the pace or doing the wrong moves or, at least twice, totally clueless as to how to do the move of the moment.  So I don’t know.  I imagine it’s the sort of workout you could probably have a lot of fun with once you’d done it enough times to really be familiar with the moves and the routine.  I do tend to like the fun and silliness aspect of most dance based workouts, and generally they seem to offer sort of sneaky workouts because dance doesn’t always feel as challenging as some other cardio options.  If anyone has suggestions on some ballet based workouts that won’t kill me, I’d love your thoughts!

As a final thought, I don’t know if I mentioned it but I won free iced coffee from POM!  I was participating in their College Cheer voting bracket… honestly, I was just doing it for fun and genuinely didn’t realize there was a potential prize, so I was surprised and thrilled when I got an email from the company letting me know my twelve bottles of iced coffee were on their way!  They arrived yesterday, and I tried the Cafe au Lait for the first time today.  I like the chocolate a lot better, but the Cafe au Lait is still very good and a great way for me to have my coffee without worrying about remembering to make it in the mornings.  The little 10.5 bottles are small enough to fit in my purse, and they are easily as much caffeine as my normal cup of coffee.  The husband tried one this morning too, and he’s much pickier than I am about coffee flavored things, so I was happy to hear he liked them too!

I don’t mind prepping our coffee at night to have it ready to brew in the mornings, but I don’t always remember to do it, so it’s great to have a backup plan.  This morning Aaron had to get up extra early for work, so it was really nice not to have to worry about the coffee maker and to just be able to grab a little bottle from the fridge.  I’d recommend this stuff for sure, and I’ll be trying the vanilla when my stash of Cafe au Lait runs out!

A fridge full of POM.

Between the POM juice and the POMx iced coffee, I might have a POM addiction...

7 Responses

  1. Hey girl! Your post is up on my blog this morning! Thanks again!!!

  2. Hi there! Saw your site through your guest post! I want to try the POMx coffee – I’m going to have to find that at my grocery store!!

    • It’s a little expensive, but SO worth it for me. I keep hoping I’ll see it pop up at my wholesale store. You’ll have to let me know how you like it. Just fyi, it’s usually sold in the produce section!

  3. I ran the Great Frederick Fair 5k a few years in a row, which is a pretty fun one. I’ve also run the Dazzle Dash at Merriweather, which is a benefit for Howard General Hospital.

    I run the whole time, and on my first race was super surprised that I could make it! I wanted to stop so badly a couple of times, but I kept telling myself to go a little farther, then a little farther, and eventually it just would’ve been stupid to stop. 🙂

    It really helps to have a race buddy. Even though we usually don’t talk, knowing someone else is in it with you really helps!

  4. P.S. I have the New York City Ballet’s two workout DVDs, and I have been meaning to send them to you for like 2 months now! I think you’ll like them. 🙂

  5. I ran a 5k at FitBloggin. I wasn’t worried about it. I didn’t even run to the finish. I’m much more embarrassed about that NOW than I was THEN. It was cooldown time. I’m very regimented with my runs. VERY.

    If I were to do it again I would

    not get lost

    run the whole way and SKIP the cooldown so I have proof of running the whole way.

  6. So glad you received and liked the coffee! If you — or your readers — want a shot at winning more, try our latest sweepstakes: http://www.pomwonderful.com/community/contests/wake-the-f-up-main-page/

Leave a Reply

