C25K Week 3: Motivation


After a two day break, I was expecting yesterday’s C25K run to be really difficult.  And it was, but not nearly as hard as I thought it would be.  Even more surprisingly, I felt GREAT after I ran.  I had asparagus for dinner (I’m usually not hungry AT ALL after running), did lots of stretching, and I went to bed.  A lot of times I have serious soreness after I run that makes it tough to get comfortable when I sleep, but last night I felt fine.  This morning I feel great, unlike my last few runs which left me with super SUPER tight hamstrings and/or calves the next morning.

I don’t know what the difference is, except that maybe my body is finally getting used to running.  I am considering moving on to week 4 next week without repeating week 3… but I am scared that it might be too much.  I’m not sure if I’ll recognize the feeling of “too much, time to stop” versus the current feeling of “almost too much, might die, super hard… but you can do it.”  Yesterday, during the last thirty seconds or so of the second three minute run, I felt pretty rough.  I was feeling sore, my left hip was threatening to seize up, my stomach felt questionable… but I still felt like I could push through and finish.  Will I recognize it if I try out the next week and it’s too much?  Will I know that it’s too much, or will I end up pushing myself into a stress injury?

In the end, I am just going to try it.  I think we all tend to overthink these things sometimes, so I am just going to rely on my own intelligence and intuition.  Novel idea, right?  Today I am going to go for my usual morning walk, do some strength training, and try to get LOTS of water in.  Tomorrow will be the last week 3 run, and then I have two events this weekend!  On Saturday I’ll be doing the three mile March for Babies walk, and then on Sunday I’ll be doing a 5K Little Angels walk to benefit Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep.  If you don’t know about this organization, I strongly recommend checking out their website.  I wish I’d known about them in time to document our final moments with our son… so I do what I can to support them.  So… I’ll be getting plenty of exercise over the next few days, and then Monday will be the beginning of week 4.  I am purposefully not looking at the training schedule for week 4.  I don’t want to see it and psych myself out.  If I look now, I’ll spend the next four days worrying about whether or not I can do it.

See what I mean?  Again with the overthinking.  We all do this though, don’t we?  We think ourselves out of exercising.  We think ourselves into poor food choices.  We think ourselves into bad habits, out of good ones.  I don’t know if it’s possible to stop overthinking, since I think it might just be human nature, but I’d like to think we can shift it to work for us.  If we’re active about our thinking, if we purposefully concentrate on thinking the right thoughts, maybe we can overthink our way INTO good choices and healthy habits, and OUT of the bad ones.  Right now I am really concentrating on waking up every morning with a purpose, opening my eyes and thinking about what I want to accomplish for the day and reminding myself why it’s important.

Sometimes that part is easy.  Every morning when Evi wakes up, she has a huge smile on her face.  There is just something about being presented daily with the world’s most beautiful smile that makes it easier to keep your motivation.

All smiles, me & Evi I know everyone says that healthy habits won’t stick if you are doing them for someone else, but I think success has more to do with the underlying motives.  If you’re losing weight or eating better to impress a potential date, to fit in with a certain crowd…. those habits are less likely to stick because they are directly related to relationships that could easily be transitional.  If, however, you’re making the right choices because you truly believe that it will benefit your family (or yourself) I think it’s a great motivator.  Getting healthy to benefit my daughter, for whom I would willingly lay down in traffic if it made her life even a little bit better, helps to keep me motivated in a way that wouldn’t work if I was doing it “for myself.”  After all, I’m used to putting myself last in some ways.  It sounds sad, but it’s just life.  We all do it.  We all put ourselves last in some ways, and when the stress of life gets to be too much, most of us have to let something slide.  Whether it’s right or wrong, our health tends to be the thing to go.  But when you’re doing it for her health?  It can’t go.

Thank you, my amazing nearly-one-year-old daughter, for keeping me steady on this journey.  It wouldn’t matter without you.

6 Responses

  1. What a sweet face 🙂

    Congrats on your workout, that’s awesome. My advice is to try week 4 while you’re super motivated. And if you find it’s too tough, go back to week 3. I’m STILL stuck on week 4, but gonna keep trying it. I think this is my third week being stuck? I might have lost count, hehe.

    You’re doing so good!

    • Thanks, Craig! I do think I will try it and see what happens. Worst case, I have to repeat w3, and that is SO fine with me.

      JBS – yeah, I am trying to do more of that… instead of fighting my nature, finding ways to make it work for me!

  2. It’s smart to just try. A lot of times it is so hard not to sell ourselves short because our brains won’t shut up. Your Evi is beautiful. What a wonderful smile to wake up to.

    Way to work to your own advantage with your predisposed tendencies. Woo-Hoo!

  3. Wtg on your C25K accomplishments. Your last comments on how you are doing this for your daughter touched me and I totally agree. I started getting healthy for my own daughter who is 15 months now. I had her when I was 39 years old and I have always been overweight. Getting healthier now is sticking and has for a year now and it never did before.
    Sweet babies will do that to you. Give you strength to do what in the past you never thought you could.
    Enjoy your wonderful bundle every day and enjoy that intense love you have for her. I know I do.
    Take care Michelle

  4. Way to go! I’m on week 5 day 2. I redid week 3 and am Thankful for it. Just taking the time to get it right and train my muscles makes a difference. You can do it!

  5. […] and redefining friendships, of marrying the most amazing man in the world, of losing a son and raising a daughter, of redefining myself with new accomplishments and relationships… but I have finally found […]

Leave a Reply

