Little Angels 5K Recap


Hey, I’m also posting at Workout Mommy’s site today about how to fit exercise into a busy life.

Little Angels 5K starThis weekend was chock full of activity for me!  I did the March for Babies on Saturday (thanks again for all of your support!) and then on Sunday I did the Little Angels 5K.  This event was a benefit for the fine people at Now I Lay Me Dow to Sleep, an organization that provides families with photographers to document their last moments with babies who are stillborn or who will not survive long after birth.  The service is totally free, and the photographers provide professional quality photos to the families, which can become cherished memories of such a difficult time.

I was happy to be there with my friend Nicole, and we were excited to get going despite the serious humidity.

Nicole & MeNicole’s friend Molly joined us too.  It was much hotter than we expected, and the humidity was insane.  A few steps into the walk we were already soaked from the wet air.  We walked fast though, and we found ourselves out in front of the group of walkers!  We pushed ourselves to keep up a good pace, and we even ran twice!  Somewhere near the last half mile we ran for a minute or so, and then we ran again when we saw the finish line.  We were super pleased to cross the line at 54:28.  So now I have a clear goal for the next 5K… just beat that time!  We were tired but happy… and sweaty…

Three sweaty girls...After everyone finished the race, we did a balloon release for all of the babies who were lost too soon…

Little Angels 5K balloon release

Little Angels 5K balloon release - my balloon is the green one at top center with the butterfly drawn on it.

I cried a little bit after the balloon release.  I loved being a part of such a fantastic event, and I will be back (and running) next year!

2 Responses

  1. Great work!!! What a weekend you had. I’m very proud of you! 🙂

  2. Wow, that last picture made me cry. What a beautiful event, and I’m so sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

