Couch to 5K: Going Back


What if?

Somehow I managed to miss What If Wednesday this week, so please excuse my late post!  If you missed my first post (or my second one), my answer to Fitarella’s What If challenge was all about making writing work for me.  I’m coming up on the end of the first month… I gave myself two months to see some real progress.

So what did I do this week?

  • I started a blog for VinoList.
  • I posted wine articles on HubPages, GoArticles, Squidoo.
  • I submitted the wine site to several pages that may increase our traffic, which may also increase my teeny, inconsistent paycheck.
  • I called and email the editor to check up on my manuscript.  Still no answer from her, so I will be following up with our mutual friend this week.
  • I applied for a full time, from home writing job that I actually feel like I have a decent chance of getting.  They don’t review applications until the end of the month, so it will be a while before I hear anything.
  • I pitched my weight loss and C25K training to a local paper…. and they called me back!  Now there is a small chance that I will be appearing in the paper, and I am so excited/nervous/nervous.

So that’s what I’ve been up to this week, and I am excited about the possibility of seeing some results here.  I am nervous about some of it.  The job I applied for freaks me out a little bit because it’s a full time job and I don’t know how I’ll balance the job and the daughter and the school…  honestly, school would probably take a backseat and I’d likely have a mother’s helper type person come in for a few half days so that I could focus on work.  It would be worth it though, to have a well paying job in writing.  I’ll fill you in on details if I hear back from them.

In other What If news, I was super nervous this week to do C25K again.  After a super active weekend, I proceeded to take two days off from exercise, and one of those days was chock full of bad food choices.  I decided to repeat week 3, and I was terrified that even the 90 second run would be killer.  It wasn’t though.  Not at all.  In fact, I enjoyed the run!  Except for the last thirty seconds of the last three minute run… I wanted to fall over for that thirty seconds.  Strangely, especially considering how great I felt DURING the run, I felt really weird when the run was over.  I felt dizzy and weak, like I might pass out at any moment.  My muscles felt pretty good, and I made sure to cool down and stretch out, so I don’t know what happened.  After several minutes of laying on the floor I started to feel better.  Did I do something wrong?  I had a pre-run snack of peanut butter toast, and I drank water the whole time I was out there.  Maybe this just happens sometimes?

No matter what, I was really pleased with my progress, so proud to have finished another day of running, and happy to find that even my no good, very bad, horrible day didn’t ruin my running progress.  I’ll be back out there tomorrow, getting TONS of walking in for my daughter’s zoo birthday party on Saturday, and then running again on Sunday.  Tuesday will be the beginning of week 4.

So if someone is (potentially) coming out to do an interview for this local feature, what do I wear?  Because it’s fitness related, should I wear workout clothes?  Do I wear jeans like I normally do?  EEK!  Come over and hold my hand!

5 Responses

  1. happy to find that even my no good, very bad, horrible day didn’t ruin my running progress.
    ——-
    I love that
    both the book allusion 🙂 and that you didnt let it bring you down.
    I swear EVERY TIME I dont let a bad day derail me (work life fitness whatever) Im proud.

  2. I’m impressed. You are making MOVES! All action. not just talking. I love it.

  3. I still am waiting for the spirit to move me to move me. Sigh. Thanks for adding to the craving of taking that first step. BTW, consider yourself officially added to my blogroll. It may increase your readership by as much as 0.026%. WOOT! 🙂 – Kirsten

Leave a Reply

