Cupcake Weekend


This weekend was my daughter’s first birthday party at the zoo.  The beautiful chaos of the party and family in from out of town threw my eating and workout plans out the window.

Instead of running on Friday, I spent the day working up a good sweat with housework.  Instead of making chicken enchiladas, we ordered pizza for dinner.  I’m proud of myself though.  I burned plenty of calories with the chores, and I got a thin crust pizza with light cheese and tons of veggies.  I had a glass of wine, and we enjoyed a great night with my brother and parents.

We had a quick breakfast on the road Saturday morning.  We stopped at Starbucks and I got a small skim sugar-free caramel iced latte and the spinach and egg white wrap.  At the zoo, the party was potluck so I had a little bit of hummus, some green salsa, a handful of pita chips, about half a cup of taco salad, and two bites of a cupcake.  Later in the afternoon, I had some lemonade and a few bites of cotton candy, and we also walked four miles.  For dinner we did homemade chicken enchiladas with wine.  I feel good about the choices I made.  I enjoyed the day without feeling deprived, and I didn’t go crazy eating terrible food.  I even snuck in healthy animal cupcakes, made with reduced fat cake mix & icing and applesauce instead of oil.

Sunday was… less good.  We did get a fair amount of walking in between running errands and a trip to Ikea, but the food was rough.  We had a good breakfast at home with turkey bacon, Fiber One blueberry muffins, eggs, and friendship bread… but then we ate fast food for lunch.  I got a kid’s french fry and a grilled chicken sandwich.  For dinner, where we ate out at a great restaurant, I got a barbecue chicken sandwich with bacon and cheese, plus sauteed mushrooms on the side.  I had a glass of wine with half the sandwich and half the mushrooms, and then we split a piece of peanut butter pie.  So it was a big food day, but dinner was great and totally worth it.

Today is off to a great start.  We went for a beautiful morning walk after a breakfast of Kashi Go Lean! Crunch cereal and yogurt, and now my daughter is taking a nap.  We’ll have healthy leftovers for lunch, and tonight I will try to conquer C25K Week 4!!!

3 Responses

  1. […] for my daughter’s zoo birthday party, but I’ve been doing a lot of work trying to get and stay healthy, so I wanted the cupcakes to be at least a little better for you without being those icky, […]

  2. […] weekend was busy and chaotic, but wonderful.  Here’s a look at the food/exercise for the weekend too.  My Mother’s Day was celebrated with my mother, Aaron’s mother, Aaron’s […]

  3. OMG, I love cupcakes. Hehe. Yours sound fun!

    And don’t worry about the bad choices. It’s now a new week!

Leave a Reply

