Recipe Remix: Biscuit Pie


I let a little drizzle stop me from running last night, so I’ll be headed out tonight no matter what… unless there’s a thunderstorm since I’m just not sure it’s safe to run in a real storm.

Since we were inside anyway, I decided it would be a good time to try out a new recipe.  I went with Caitlin’s Biscuit Casserole.  I didn’t have peas, so I used 1.5 cups of corn and 1.5 cups of black beans, plus roasted red pepper hummus.  I also didn’t have biscuit mix, so I used this recipe for biscuits and used all whole wheat flour.

It turned out decently, but I think I’d like to do some tweaking.  There was something… off… about the taste of the biscuits, and I think I’d like to try adding some spices to the biscuit mix.  I am also thinking about playing around with the rest of it, maybe adding some lean protein in and playing with different flavors of hummus or with something like Greek yogurt or tzatziki,  Maybe I could try some Raita since Marisa has me super interested in it.

I’m also talking about home and dreams on YSP: Rome is Where the Heart is.

2 Responses

  1. […] talking about my take on a biscuit pie/casserole recipe on Skinny Sushi […]

  2. for some reason it really cracked me up as i was reading about your recipe – and you changed alot of the recipe. I don’t know why , but I laughed.! Good for you for exercising tonight no matter what.

Leave a Reply

