C25K Week 4: New Shoes?


I managed to get through another day of C25K week 4, and it was actually easier than the first day.  So yeah, it does get better.  I will definitely be repeating this week though.  The second five minute run pushes me to my absolute limit and I don’t think I could finish a longer run at this point.

Unlike Monday’s run, I actually felt pretty great when I finished this one.  The husband and baby were able to come out with me, which helps a lot in terms of motivation, and I like the time with them.  It was funny though, because at one point I got heckled by a couple of guys drinking beers on their porch.  Apparently they though it was pretty ridiculous (hard to say how serious they were) because my husband was pushing the stroller instead of me.  So only women can push strollers, I guess?  When I yelled out that I was DYING (just finished the first five minute run) they just kept up with the heckling.  I was tempted to challenge them to get out there and run too, but was afraid they’d turn out to be oddly healthy and totally show me up…. so I just kept moving and put them out of my head.  By the time the next run came around, I’d already forgotten them.

Last night was a great time to run thanks to some cool breezes and a little less humidity.  I’m usually the first to complain about unseasonal weather, and it is tough to know how to dress when the weather is super hot one week and pretty chilly the next, but when it comes to running, I am LOVING the cooler weather.  The breezes and the lower temperatures make it a lot easier to run without feeling so heavy and disgusting like I do on hot and humid days.  I also drink less water, which helps me not to feel nauseous.  Sometimes the feeling of the water sloshing around when I run really does make me feel like I’m going to be sick.  Yesterday I also discovered that the smell of food cooking (since we run in the evening’s we’re hitting a lot of dinner times) makes me totally want to barf when I’m full on running and really pushing myself.

It’s interesting, because I’m getting some really good times (for me.)  This week I’ve been averaging 32 minutes for the 2.25 miles, putting me at about a 14:00 mile.  For me, as a beginner, this sounds SUPER fast and I’m really pleased with it.  I’m hoping it’s a pace I can hold on to and bring to my first official race. I’d love to be able to say I finished with a 14:00 mile time.

So now I’m looking for some advice from other runners.  How often do you buy running shoes?  The ones I have now are older shoes, but I never really used them before this whole C25K adventure… so they’ve only been getting regular use (maybe 6 miles a week) since March.  When will I need new shoes?  How will I even know that I need them?  I have intentions of buying new shoes for myself when I finish running my first 5K, but now I’m wondering if I should get them before that so that I will have new shoes for the race.  And don’t worry, I know better than to run in totally new shoes.  I promise to break them in first.

I’m starting to think of bigger and bigger running goals, which surprises me since when I started this whole thing I was really just thinking of it as a better weight loss tool and not a goal for its own sake.  But now I am thinking about the Disney Princess Half Marathon, or the new Wine & Dine Half.  I wonder if I’d be ready to do one of those next year…  I think it would be amazing to compete in a Disney race, plus it has the added benefit of being close to my family.  I am actually thinking about waiting to do one of those races for a few years, until my daughter is old enough to enjoy Disney and we can turn it into a family vacation.  What about you?  What are some of your favorite events to walk/run/bike/watch?  What  makes a good race?  What makes a bad one?

11 Responses

  1. Yeah! Congrats on your continued progress with C25K. (I am still working on the program – I’m onto W6D3 tomorrow!)

    I am really interested to see what answers you get from this post – as I have been wondering the same things.

    You are brave for having ambitions of running a race, I am too nervous/scared to register. Me. . . a runner? I’d never believe it!

    🙂

    Julia
    http://jewliagoulia.blogspot.com

    • Anything after week 4 terrifies me, so I am totally in awe of you now!!!

      Honestly, I NEVER thought I’d be a runner, and maybe I still won’t be, but all of a sudden I feel like I could be… and it’s exciting. There are so many fantastic causes to support, and I’ve always wanted to give more to charity. Now I feel like I can help myself AND give to causes I care about, so it seems like a win-win situation.

  2. Running is addicting 🙂 It really opens your mind up to what you can do and how great your body is. I love that about it!

    As for shoes… even if you haven’t been running in your shoes for too many miles, if they’re older they could be bad for your health. If you’ve ever left them in the car for long periods of time extreme temps can morph the heel of the shoes. And over time the EVA (foam) will still break down. That said, you can probably wait until after your 5K to replace them, but I wouldn’t wait much longer than that.

    And be sure you go to a running specialty store that can help you find the right shoe for your foot. When you’re running longer distances, a good shoe is super important.

    Sorry to ramble, but I heart shoes haha.

    Good luck girl!

  3. Check this site out Sushi!
    500 in 2010
    They told me 300 miles. You’re doing great!

  4. Recommendations I’ve seen say you should replace them every 300 to 400 miles, depending on weight and surface you are running on. Heavier runners should replace their shoes more toward the lower end of the spectrum. A lot of overuse injuries come from people running in old shoes. I also read if you are having knee pain, shin pain, or joint pain, it could a result of running in old shoes.

  5. Yay, Heather! You are doing so awesome and should be sooooo proud of yourself! A 14 min. mile is terrific in my book! I have been running for over a year and I still barely squeak by with a 13 min. mile on average. But, try not to get caught up with the time thing. All that matters is that you are out there and DOING IT! I realized over time that I will never be fast and I am perfectly okay with that. I find it more gratifying to rack up mileage than focusing on how fast I am.

    I agree w/other commenters on shoes. I heard 300-400 miles also. Take your time finding shoes that fit well. They don’t have to cost a million dollars, but don’t go with the cheapest either. Go to a running store or to Dicks Sporting Goods where they have a big selection and you can try out a bunch of different brands.

    What makes a good race for me? Flat. No hills. Flat is good. Hills = baaaaaad 😉

    Could this comment be looooonger? LOL!

    • I LOVE long comments! And don’t worry, I don’t ever think about my time when I’m out there. I just like to see it slowly inching lower as I get better at this whole running thing. I don’t think I will ever be a race winner for speed…

      I keep hoping that the fact that I am training in a hilly neighborhood (and in the summer because I am dumb) will make the races seem easier, since what could be harder than running up a hill in 90 degree weather and 90 percent humidity?

      • Also, can I just point out that I still feel RIDICULOUS when I say things like “I ran” or “I am training.” Really? I’m not running or training. I’m slogging, struggling, barely moving. I’ve been thinking about having the husband take a video of me running, because I’d really like to know if I LOOK as slow as I FEEL.

  6. You should be so proud of yourself! 14 minute mile! whoo hoo!

  7. […] here.  I’m still running the Couch to 5K program.  Today I’ll be starting a repeat of week 4.  I’m also still doing my morning walks with Evi at least four days a week and usually […]

  8. Oooh, you got me at Disney race. I’m on week 7 of C25K, haven’t even signed up for a 5k yet, but in my dreams I’m running one of those Disney half-marathons. I am a Disney fanatic, so it is some motivation. We’re headed there this December for our 4th visit, and I’m starting to think of hitting one of those races at some point. Just gotta convince the husband…

    Congratulations on your runs! I’m finding it so amazing to see what my body can do if I just push it. I never EVER thought I’d be running for 5 minutes much less 25. And I agree, 14 minutes is speedy in my book. You are running, you’re a runner now. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

