Penance and the Gruve


Gruve - red light(source)

Yesterday I had a total breakdown in judgment.  I ordered pizza for dinner because I knew my husband wouldn’t be home and I just didn’t feel up to cooking.  I was proud of myself for choosing a thin crust, light cheese pizza with all veggie toppings.  Unfortunately, when I went to checkout I was told I couldn’t order online because my total was less than ten dollars.  Grr!  I have a hang up about calling people on the phone and will generally do anything to avoid it, so I figured I’d throw in a Coke Zero and call it a day…

Instead, I opened the door a half hour later to gladly relieve the delivery man of my small pizza and 8 piece cinnamon sticks with icing.  And then?  I ate every last bite.  I ate an entire small pizza and all but one of the breadsticks, which I happily dunked in the icing.  It was pretty horrible… I mean, it tasted great, but afterward I felt disgusting.  My stomach was hurting, I was too full, and I was completely mortified at what I’d done.  This was after a great weigh in, so why?  Why did I choose something so ridiculous when I was seeing progress?  I still don’t know.  I don’t know why I did it, why I ate it… but I went to bed determined to do two things.

#1 – let it go.  No matter how stupid my food choices, it was one meal on one day and it can’t undo everything I’ve worked so hard for.  If I let it stick in my head, I’ll end up eating myself into oblivion over the guilt that will build up, and I really will undo all of my hard work.

#2 – pay for it.  I chose poorly.  I knew I’d pay for it with an upset stomach, but I wanted to do more than that.  I also needed a little bit of ME time, so I combined the needs and printed out a free trial pass to a local gym.  I headed out this morning once the husband and baby were all settled in.  I planned to do an hour on the treadmill… but instead, thanks to sheer luck in terms of timing, I ended up being talked into a BodyStep class.  The class was an hour long, and it was AWESOME.  It was tough, and I was really working hard.  There were at least two moments when I thought I couldn’t finish, so I know the workout was a good one.  I was covered in sweat by the end, but now that it’s over I feel UNSTOPPABLE.

So I did it.  I made up for the indiscretion, I worked hard and I feel great, and I have eaten great food today.  Nothing feels better than knowing I am totally back on track.

I do, however, have an issue.  I think my Gruve is… a liar.  More specifically, I just don’t think it’s accurately tracking how many calories I burn.  I know that without a heart rate monitor I can’t get a super accurate reading of what I’m burning… but I’ve been doubting it more and more lately.  For instance, it tells me I only burn about 200 calories when I go out running.  I’m out there for a half hour, and I am working at my maximum.  It just doesn’t seem like enough.  The other day, it told me I burned 75 calories during a 45 minute power circuit workout.  There is NO way, since the same workout left me sore for three days.  Today, it says I burned 330 calories during my hour long BodyStep class.  I did some digging online and it looks like most people are reporting anywhere from 600 to 1200 calories burned, and when I plug step aerobics into some of these online calorie estimators, even when I am conservative and say it was low impact for the whole hour, it still says I should have burned more.  So am I nuts, or is the Gruve not accurate enough?

I really want something new… a Garmin Forerunner or a Polar or something, but I have no idea what I need.  I need something with a heart rate monitor and an accurate calorie estimator.  GPS or a pedometer/distance tracker would be nice too, but I can figure that out on my own if I can get the other stuff.  So what are your recommendations?  Do you have something you use and love?  Why or why not?

EDIT: Please see the great comment below from Joel with Gruve.  It explains how the Gruve works and why the numbers seem different from the readings on other devices.

5 Responses

  1. So, one of the biggest reasons why I stopped weighing in? I never EVER failed to follow up a good weigh-in with a binge.

    And I’ve been having the same suspicions about my Gruve, too.

    • Apparently, the Gruve doesn’t take into account your “RMR and NEAT,” which means nothing to me…. but I am thinking about getting a Garmin or Polar instead… as soon as I figure out which of their ten billion options is the right one for me.

      • Skinny Sushi

        Let me help you understand your Gruve a bit better. Gruve is measuring your caloric burn ABOVE your Resting Metabolic Rate (RMR).

        RMR is defined as those calories your body always burns to working properly, you burn those calories no matter what. For example, if your RMR is 1500 calories each day but you consume 2000 calories that means that you have a 500 calorie surplus in your body that you need to burn or you will gain weight.

        To put this into context, one pound is equal to 3,500 calories. If you want to lose one pound in a weeks time, you must burn 500 calories more than you put into your body each day over those 7 days. Its really that simple!!

        Thats where Gruve comes in. Gruve is extremely accurate at measure your body movement throughout the day and converts that to caloric burn data so you can see how many calories over your RMR you have burned. Gruve is much more accurate than any heart rate monitor in measuring caloric burn. Gruve has been tested at Mayo Clinic against the gold standard for clinical measurement of caloric burn and has been proven to be very close to “clinical grade” in its accuracy.

        Please let me know if you have any questions.

      • Thank you so much, this is really helpful. I appreciate you taking the time to visit and explain things for me.

  2. I’ve noticed that the only really sustained periods of weight loss when i really get on a roll happen when I decide not to step on the scale for weeks or months at a time. The problem is, when you look in the mirror and think “Damn, I look awesome” the first thought is “I wonder what I weigh?” I’m in the midst of a 6-week challenge where I weighed myself at the outset and then didn’t weigh myself until 3 weeks in. Until that point, I’d had no trouble resisting the scale. But when I did weigh in and found I’d lost 13 pounds, the temptation became unbearable. Multiple times per day, I’d want to check in. When I finally did break down, I’d gained a few pounds back. Enter the downward spiral. Fortunately, thanks to a supportive partner, I was able to pull myself out of it. But I’ve stayed away from the scale since. With less than a week to go now, I know one of the keys to my success will be staying away from that digital menace!

Leave a Reply

